How do I use Virtual Rooms by Raydiant?

overview.pngVirtual Rooms is a breakthrough new offering that allows you to easily manage videoconferencing sessions by configuring them in advance. Its primary use case is quick and easy transitions between videoconferences, making it especially easy to connect with your coworkers while remote.

 

Building a Virtual Room

Once you are editing a Virtual Rooms presentation, add individual videoconferences as "rooms" by clicking "Add a new room". Within that room configuration, select the type of videoconference provider by pressing the appropriate "room type" button (Zoom or BlueJeans), type in the videoconference meeting ID, and optionally select an image thumbnail that will represent the room in your room list. There is also a passcode entry if needed for that conference.

room.png

pickimage2.png

All image formats are supported (jpg, png, and gif). If you use a large image, it may take time to upload. Although you can save your presentation, you will not be able to publish the presentation to the screen until image upload is complete.

To add multiple rooms, merely select "Add another room" and continue. A small delete icon allows you to delete rooms you have already configured.

Global Options

 

Screen_Shot_2020-08-18_at_12.08.33_AM.png

Global options apply to all rooms within a presentation. They are, in vertical order:

  • camera muted on entry: sets initial mute state of camera, which can be overridden by the end user 
  • microphone muted on entry: sets initial mute state of microphone, which can be overridden by the end user
  • duration, in seconds
  • standby image: the image shown in the "waiting room" before the user selects a room to launch
  • headline text: the text shown in the center of the waiting room; if there is a standby image, the text is displayed below it
  • theme: the background and color theme used for the presentation

 

Running Virtual Rooms

Several icons control the virtual room experience. On the ScreenRay Pro, you will navigate using a remote control supplied with the device, or via a touch interface if installed on your screen; on the Surface Go, you navigate using either the keyboard or via the touch interface.

Screen_Shot_2020-08-18_at_12.19.50_AM.png

The icons are, in vertical order:

  • Mute/unmute microphone
  • Mute/unmute video
  • Show/hide list of rooms
  • Show/hide list of participants (when in a room)
  • Exit room
  • Show/hide settings

Selecting as button will slide out a visual tray with options on it, such as the list of rooms.

Screen_Shot_2020-08-18_at_12.31.18_AM.png

Settings control which camera, microphone and speaker you want to use, if you have more than one available on your ScreenRay device. This is only available once you have entered a room and launched a conference. At this time, the choice of peripheral is not saved, and must be selected again when you enter a room.

Best Practices: Operations

One option is to configure virtual rooms to be used by many other "endpoint users." In this use case an IT administrator configures one playlist and one room to be shared across many screens.

To achieve this, connect multiple ScreenRay devices to WiFi, add them as screens to the admin account using the pairing code shown on each screen.  Then, build a single playlist with a single Virtual Rooms presentation, and configure each device to use that same presentation, and publish. You can then ship devices to end users, who will merely have to enter WiFi credentials when they plug in their device to gain instant access to Virtual Rooms. 

Best Practices: Publish Lock

An operator may also make changes to a presentation that is in use, and republish the presentation and its associated playlist. If the end user is in a live conference, the ScreenRay device will not disrupt that meeting; the new presentation and playlist will take effect only if the end user leaves the room.

Virtual Rooms may be used in Zone 1 of multizone if desired. This is most effective if you wish to show live content while connecting with the wider team.

Best Practices: Zoom Conference 

Zoom conferences are preconfigured to require the host to join first, and then allow others into the conference. This requires that the conference host be present and run the Zoom client on a computer. Since Raydiant is a closed, secure system, we recommend the hostconfigure the following options under Personal | Settings:

Disable Waiting Room

This allows participants to enter the room immediately without being allowed in individually.

Screen_Shot_2020-08-18_at_12.37.51_AM.pngAllow Join before Host

This allows participants to join a meeting even if the host is not present.

Screen_Shot_2020-08-18_at_12.38.03_AM.png

 

 

 

 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request